Winter Blues (Blueberry Pie Squares)

As of late, I’ve been wondering why it is that in the spring, I am more compelled to clean house and re-arrange my life. Maybe it’s the sense of re-generation, offered by the budding trees, that pushes a need to re-arrange my furniture. Maybe it’s got something to do with the extra boost of energy, provided by the extra sunlight hours, that makes me feel as though 6:00am is the perfect time to thoroughly dust my (bookless) bookshelf.

Or, maybe it’s got nothing really to do with the coming of spring, but more to do with the end of winter – a cause for celebration. But what’s a girl to do when it’s time to celebrate, but her friends all live in the suburbs and don’t like coming downtown? Well, celebration then comes in the form of a solitary glass of wine, accompanied by some housecleaning. And some baking. Ok, lots of baking. Because, well, I’m in my 20s, and I’ve got to live it up while I can!

While cleaning, I noticed a few pints of blueberries in my fridge that had seen better days. They hadn’t reached that inexplicable mouldy-immediately-after-purchase stage, but were looking a little sad. If blueberries could frown, well, they were definitely doing that. Though I was really feeling like blueberry pie, I was also really not feeling like rolling out any dough. So I got to thinking. Maybe I should just make date squares, and toss the berries. You see, I’ve been on a date-square binge the past few weeks, and though I like to try and pull myself out of these baking ruts that I get into, date squares are just SO good, I couldn’t bare to NOT make them again.

And then, it hit me. This was the moment in my life when my brain made the most beautiful of all food babies:

Blueberry. Pie. Squares.

Imagine this: date-square-meets-blueberry-pie-plus-brown-sugar. Melt-in-your-mouth-warm-your-heart-goodness. Oh. My. Goodness.

Oh, and yes, they are as tasty as they sound.

Blueberry Pie Squares

what you’ll need
2 cups rolled oats
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup butter, softened, cut into cubes
3/4 cup brown sugar

500ml blueberries (3 containers)
1/2 cup white sugar
4 tbsp lemon juice
1/3 cup water

how to do it
On stovetop, cook blueberries, water, lemon juice and sugar, stirring frequently, until a jammy consistency starts to form (about 20 minutes). Remove from heat and bring to room temperature. Mixture will thicken upon cooling. Meanwhile, in stand mixer with paddle attachment, combine butter, oats, flour and brown sugar. Mix on low speed until crumbly consistency starts to form. Line 9” pan with parchment paper. Press half of mixture into pan. Spoon blueberry mixture over top. Cover with remaining crumb mixture. Bake at 350F for 30 to 40 minutes, or until top is golden brown.

Cut into squares. Extra delicious if served warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream on top!

Leave a Reply

